A Project A Day Keeps The Windows Away!

Okay so going on 3 days now of using Ubuntu. So far I’m loving it. Really I am. I find that the more I use Ubuntu the less I use Windows XP. So I figured to prevent myself from getting overwhelemed I will focus on no more than one project a day. So what’s today’s project? Well that’s a great question.

First off let me explain my current setup. I have two computers (That I actually use), the first one is an iMac, and the other being a Pentium 4 system that I built 2 years ago. Okay with that being said I am running Ubuntu on the Pentium 4 and my Mac remains with it’s leopard OS.

So yesterday after I posted my first blog I was messing around with Mac (yeah that’s his name) and I realized that I use the voice command control alot. For those of you who don’t know what this is it’s a pretty neat peice of software built into the MAC OS that enables the user to close, open, interact, and just mess around with your computer applications. An example I might say “Open Safari” and bam my Safari Internet browser is open. I might say “Tell Me A Joke” and suddenly my Mac is telling me a knock knock joke. It’s kind of useless to most. But when your not always wanting to switch between 2 keyboards it comes in handy. So my hunting began to find voice command software for Ubuntu.

The search wasn’t the easiest thing I’ve had to search for with Ubuntu but after alot of digging I found a nifty peice of software. Now while I was digging I found alot of useful tidbits of information. One article explained how complicated this voice command software is not because of it’s coding but because nobody’s really developing an open source version of this. Also the peice of software I did find explained on their website that it’s not finished… In fact they said that it’s not even close to being finished, however it is functional and they are looking for developers to help them code more of this program.

Now with all that out of the way lets have some fun.
It’s called Voice Control Applet.

So here’s what you do to get it.
Go to System>Administration>Synaptic Manager
Click Search the Type: Gnome-Voice-Control
Right click and select Mark For Installation

Now once that installs don’t be like me and go searching all over in your applications because it wont be there. To enable it Right click on one of your application panels and select Add To Panel and just search for Voice Control. It will say Idle to start it just right click and select Start. Once you do this just say open text editor, or close window. Like I said earlier it doesn’t work great but it’s a step in the right direction

Voice Control For Ubunut Linux

Voice Control For Ubunut Linux

~ by jeymz on October 3, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
