Website WOOT

So I finally broke down and turned my machine into a webserver. Now this wasn’t the easiest task considering I was behind a router and I have road runner which means dynamic IP address (constantly changing). So how did I do it? Well first off I installed windows XP (yuck) then I enabled the IIS component through Add/Remove Programs > Add/ Remove Windows Components. Then I had to get all my updates to make sure my machine wasn’t hacked. After that I had to configure my router. Now I have a Belkin Wireless router so I set my machine to have a static IP then in the belkin config I clicked Virtual servers set port 80 to route to my IP address. Then I went to DynDNS.com and set up a host name Jeymz.homelinux.org and Jeymz.kicks-ass.org. Then I went back to my router filled in my credentials in the DynDNS tab and blam I have a fully working website. Check it out go to http://jeymz.homelinux.org or http://jeymz/kicks-ass.org.

~ by jeymz on January 11, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
