Finally A Much Overdue Upgrade

For as much time as I spend on a computer you would think my personal PC is some high performance beast of a machine… But in the assumption you would be incorrect. For the past 2 years I have been reduced to a scrap unit I made when I was 18. It consisted of a Pentium 4 3.2GHZ processor, MOBO from a SONY VAIO (It’s ASUS) Socket 478 =P , 764 MB SDRAM, GeForce FX4000 Series, A really crappy looking case that was falling apart, and a recently replaced PSU that is now 630W XION.

But I finally just went and built a new system.

Specs (they aren’t that great but they are a hell of alot better than what I had)
Biostar MCP6P M2+ mATX
Sempron 3400+
2GB (2x1GB) RAM
GeForce 8400 GS 256MB
Sleek XION Case
And I transferred my PSU over since it’s like brand new.
Also got a RAID card since I only had IDE drives (need to start investing in some SATA)

Currently this machine is running Ubuntu Linux on one drive and Windows XP on the other. The Ubuntu runs the most and I also have a Virtual BOX with Windows XP, and OPENSUSE set up. Overall I’ve been very happy with my new machine and considering it cost less than $250 I think it was well worth it. The motherboard can actually support the new XMP Phenon Quad Core Processor which is my next upgrade.

~ by jeymz on February 15, 2009.

Leave a comment